Coming back

I’ve been away from training. A lot of my time, besides work, was spent at the gym.

Not away totally – just have been having some long standing health issues checked out and treated for.

And that is why the last 3 months I have not been sparring nor doing fight drills. Only pads.

Learning Muay Thai is like learning a language. There is a process of acquisition.

Pads class is like flipping through your grammar & vocab flashcards, practicing reading/writing, doing scripted role-play with partners, etc.

Sparring and fight drills are like –

Okay, I’ve been studying flashcards and I’ve been playing with different scenarios, got some grammar down, got some vocab down. Now let’s make use of it in conversation. 

I haven’t been able to practice conversation the last 3 months.

You study a language, usually, to become fluent.

You only gain fluency in a language by speaking and conversing while also fumbling through your speech…making mistakes and learning from those mistakes; by putting yourself out there again and again each time you fail.

Now that some light has been shed on those health issues, things are looking brighter- I can start doing drills and sparring again soon.

With all that being said, it’s time to start talking again, baby.

Time to start jabbering; time to grow from my mistakes.

Time to move forward.

Published by

Amanda

"I see the quiet strength in a mountain side in you, and yet I also see the dangerous temptation of a cliff face. You are the smooth rustling of a stream past rocks, but somewhere you become the roaring power of a waterfall. You are pure white sand and the burning heat on your feet from the sun; I see the softness of vanilla and also the sharpness of peppercorn in you. You are the warmth of the sun on one’s back, and the burning blaze of a desert’s surface. You are power in reserve and power in extremes, you are a dam holding back an entire lake and also the cracks threatening the stone deep beneath the surface. You are mocked as the ‘unicorn’, INFJ, but you prove yourself as something much deeper as the Moment Before a Wave Breaks."

Leave a comment